Falling Icarus
falling due to my own devices and designs

Mark 2:21 – Icarus at work

I found myself responding to an email today and while answering a question I wrote “(Mark 2:21…)”.  The response should have started, “(Mark 2-21:).  The inital version looked so much like a bible verse ( it was just my name and today’s date) I had to look it up:

” No one sews a patch of unshrunk cloth on an old garment. If he does, the new piece will pull away from the old, making the tear worse.”New International Version (©1984)

“No man places a new strip of cloth and sews it on an old garment lest the fullness of that new cloth takes from the old, and it rips more.” Aramaic Bible in Plain English (©2010)

All and all that’s good advise.  Pre-Shrink your fabric, or don’t sew two fabrics together with different shrinkages. The fabric will buckle and not be as stable. Ironic that a man who sews and creates clothing everyday would find this.  Not only is it ironic due to my career, but it really echos somethings I am struggling with.  Sure I know it was a lot more common before modern times for every member of the family to sew.  Yet that is what makes it so special.  This is modern times.  Hardly anyone sews or deals with shrinkage, (leave the puns alone please) at the same level I do.  This random occurrence at 9:30am on Feb 21st really strikes a cord with me. I’ve been thinking about it all day.   It feels like it stands out for a reason.

When I was a child I would take the bus by myself to go to church. As a kid I was always searching for meanings.  Year by year as I grew older I learned about other religions. Gradually paganism became my dominate belief. I actually had a dream that Jesus came to me at home in our trailer and told me to pursue that path.

Now as an adult I believe that there is an all powerful being.  It is the sum of all parts of the universe.  I thought that made me a Buddhist.  Sometimes I think Christ was a Buddhist. I have stayed away from organized religion for some time, but it might be time to reexamine.

No Responses to “Mark 2:21 – Icarus at work”

Leave a Reply

